Has anyone successfully learned a second language in their 20s?

Discussion in 'Off-topic Discussion' started by EmperorLaStrang, Oct 29, 2023.

1. EmperorLaStrang

EmperorLaStrang Fapstronaut

Hello!

I recently visited Eastern Europe and fell in love with it. I would love to go back, however, when I go back I want to be able to speak the language.

I know slavic languages are complicated to learn. Especially for english speakers.

Has anyone learned a language in their 20s here? and if so how did you go about it.

2. Matrofe

Matrofe Fapstronaut

Hello. I view foreign language differently, in 'healthier' way.It all depends what you want from that langauge, to be able communicate, to be someone that is working with that, or just for yourself. I started learning Spanish in my 20, without school and now I could write and speak with native I could even pass an exam but I prefer to speak than doing these weird exercises. Altought I did reject the school curriculum of learning dozen of words.It is entirely possible to learn if the passion is there. Often we hear that doing nofap for having girlfriend for nights is not the right way but I reckon that learning language only for salary is similar if there is lack of passion in it.
    About the last inquiry is it literally about watching , hearing anything with this languge according to the proficiency with is with at first the basic
    that includes starting at the nivel you had learnt the first langauge, did you learn the langauge by studing countless words? Repeating them over and over? nah you learnt beacuse you were taught by your parents , they were speaking to you words that were simple but making it sound , you were watching fairy tales, so best way to learn is by doing similar strategy and twining fun with study.

Rhuidean and EmperorLaStrang like this.
  3. Caffeine

Caffeine Fapstronaut