Freeing myself from the past

Discussion in 'Success Stories' started by sfyer123, Feb 3, 2022.

Tags:
  1. sfyer123

sfyer123 New Fapstronaut

I'm new to the NoFap site but have lurked a bit in the past and drew inspiration from the stories of others, so I thought I'd do my part and share my experience. As I'm writing this I realized it got a lot longer than I intended but it really does feel good writing it all out for others.

Where I was at:
    Before starting NoFap a little over a month ago now, I was extremely depressed. I'm 20 years old and on paper I had a very good life and I feel like many people ( including myself ) could look at me and be envious of me. I had a close group of friends I talked to regularly, a great and supportive family, I had a near perfect GPA in a difficult university program and my future career was looking very good, however I never really felt that I wanted or deserved any of it.

I started masturbating occasionally when I was only 13 year old, but in the past 7 years the habit only grew worse and worse until I was undeniably addicted. For probably the past 3-4 years I would PMO multiple times a day and it made me feel deeply ashamed of who I was. This shame turned into depression and I believe made me think perversely about life; as if I was worthless.

No matter what I did I could never truly open up to anyone out of the deep shame I felt so while my life was moving on, it never felt like it was happening to me, but rather someone else who actually deserved it. I sometimes would catch myself frequently talking or doing something entirely unconsciously and would feel myself suddenly "wake up" and feel confusion and fear. This was probably my biggest asset in succeeding as I could unconsciously mold myself to peoples expectations, but it never felt real. The real me who was around only when I was alone and conscious felt only a boredom and dissatisfaction with life.

My Recovery: